Enquiry Now
X Have a Question?

BBMP, BMRDA, RERA, and BDA – which one is the most important authority to consider before you invest?

Architecture   Mar 19, 2020

Real estate is a complicated industry, be it for builders or buyers. You have to be careful and take the necessary precautions before investing in any piece of land. Above all, knowing and considering the authority under which you should buy your property, is imperative.

When in Bangalore, you will see multiple authorities having different roles and all of them have different mandatory certifications related to owning a plot or a property. Here is a brief about these regulatory bodies and their roles. It’s mandatory to check what certifications your property holds before buying.

Bruhat Bengaluru MahanagaraPalike (BBMP)

BBMP is administered by a city council that has elected representatives called corporates. The authority dates its history back to the year 1862, and it is the fourth largest municipal corporation in the country after Mumbai, Delhi, and Chennai.

BBMP is responsible for civic and infrastructure requirements of Greater Bangalore, including maintenance of the civic and infrastructure assets of Bangalore. Some of the other works that BBMP handles include building and maintaining sewage, roads, bridges, waste management, and similar activities. The authority works closely with the BDA and the Agenda for Bangalore Infrastructure Development Task Force (ABIDe).

In order to improve the efficacy and work progress, BBMP is divided into eight zones:

  • West Zone
  • South Zone
  • East Zone
  • Bommanahalli
  • Byatarayanapura
  • Dasarahalli
  • Mahadevapura
  • Rajarajeshwarinagar

Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMRDA)

BMRDA is an autonomous body created by the Government of Karnataka under the BMRDA Act 1985. The body is responsible for planning, coordinating and supervising the orderly development of the areas falling under Bangalore Metropolitan Region (BMR). The following areas are covered under BMR- Bangalore Urban District, Bangalore Rural District, and Ramanagara District.

Real Estate Regulatory Authority (RERA)

The Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, 2016 was passed by Rajya Sabha on 10 March 2016 and by the Lok Sabha on 15 March 2016. It strives to protect the rights of homebuyers by making transparent operations and cutting short the delay in project execution.  

The act strives to protect home buyers along with boosting investments in real estate. This is a pan India based regulatory body and operates in every state to regulate the real estate industry. RERA also acts as an adjudicating body for speedy dispute redressal.

Bangalore Development Authority (BDA)

BDA is a governmental organization which acts as the principle planning authority in Bangalore. As a regulatory body under the Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act of 1961 (KTCPA), BDA is required "to prepare in the prescribed manner a Comprehensive Development Plan" (CDP) for the Bangalore metropolitan region.

Additionally, BDA also oversees the planning and development of infrastructure, provision of development-related sites and services, the housing needs of underprivileged citizens in Bangalore. It is the largest land developer of the city and no authority or person can undertake any kind of development within the Bangalore Metropolitan Region without the permission of the BDA.

Which one is the most important authority amongst all?

Amongst all, you need to consider BDA before you buy any property. A property approved by BDA will keep you away from any kind of disputes. Additionally, you can rely on RERA too, since it protects the interest of home buyers in all sense.